E.L.F. Powders

Perhaps the most boring, but important, part of a daily makeup routine is a good setting powder. I have never really been “in love” with a powder. I used a basic Covergirl one until this past year but it just really wasn’t working for me and I wanted to find a cruelty free option. I have combination skin which means I have dry patches, oily patches and normal parts all on my face. It is just a joy -sarcasm-. As of right now I have tried three powders from e.l.f. (Eyes. Lips. Face.). I’ll break down the pros and cons of each because none are perfect but they are wonderfully priced and like all e.l.f. products they are cruelty free.

First up is the Prime and Stay Finishing Powder. This one is only $2.00, it is a pressed powder and I have mine in the color Sheer. This is actually one of my favorites. The pros are it goes on to my skin beautifully, has lasting power, does a good job mattifying shine and it doesn’t cling to dry areas for the most part. Of course, if you have a very dry patch it will cling to that. It is the perfect size to travel with or carry in a purse, however, it does not come with any type of applicator. I keep mine in my purse and use a mini blush brush that fits perfectly inside the container. The only cons with this powder is the very cheap and flimsy packaging, but I mean it’s only $2.00. I think this powder is worth trying out even if just for touch ups. You can find this in just about any store that carries makeup and online at e.l.f. Cosmetics.

Next up is the Perfect Finish HD Powder. This powder is my least favorite of the three. This one is $6.00, a pressed powder and it only comes in the color Clear (white). The pros are it comes in a very nice compact that has an applicator sponge and mirror making it perfect for travel or your purse. It goes on to the face smoothly, it doesn’t cling to any dry places and it mattifies shine. The only, but major, con to me is it makes your face look white. I’m very pale but wow, this was not a good look on me. It’s definitely not a clear powder, it’s white. If you’re interested in trying it for yourself go to e.l.f. Cosmetics.

elf HD powder loose.jpg

The last one is the loose HD Powder. This is the powder I use on a daily basis and is my favorite out of the three. This one is $6.00, it is a loose powder and I have mine in the color Soft Luminance/Shimmer. One aspect of this powder that could be a pro or con depending on what you want is the glitter in it. I personally like it. It’s not over bearing and it really adds a nice shimmer to the face. The pros of this powder are it is very long lasting, it does a great job mattifying shine and it doesn’t cling to dry patches. The cons are it is very messy and has an odd smell to it. This powder would not be ideal for a purse and would have to be stored carefully for travel. It does come with an applicator puff. If you’re looking for a nice daily powder I say give this one a try. Here’s the link for this one! 

I believe that about wraps it ups. There’s a few more powders I hope to try eventually from e.l.f., Wet n Wild, Milani and the list goes on. However, I purchase everything myself so I need to use these powders up before I buy new. The good thing is I have tons more makeup to review and even more books (: Have a great day and thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “E.L.F. Powders

Leave a Reply

