The Magic of Witch Hazel for Acne

witch-hazel

Acne is something I never struggled with until about two years ago. Eventually I went to the doctor because I was (and still am) having fertility issues and I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, PCOs. To summarize PCOs is a hormone imbalance that causes me to develop cysts in my ovaries and makes me have too much testosterone. The testosterone gives me facial hair on my chin and above my lip and makes my acne flare up. I am very lucky compared to some women that suffer with this. My facial hair is not too bad and can be controlled with daily plucking but the acne has been more complicated. For the past year I have been trying everything. I have went mostly paraben free because parabens can alter hormones, I cut out milk and most dairy except small amounts of cheese and I started using Witch HazelΒ on my face.

I have seen huge improvements in my skin! To be honest what made the biggest difference was cutting out milk but the witch hazel has did more for my skin than salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide ever did, in fact those two things always made my acne worse. I use a distilled extract that is 86% witch hazel and 14% alcohol. I get mine at Wal-Mart for maybe $2.00 or $3.00, I’m not sure but it’s so cheap. I buy small cotton pads that are usually where the Q-tips are in stores, put them in a container and soak them with the witch hazel. I put the witch hazel on every bump and acne scar. It doesn’t burn, doesn’t dry my skin out and it works! It’s not super fast acting but over time I have definitely seen a difference. Sometimes the simplest solution is the best one. If nothing has worked for your acne I say first check your diet but then give this a try. I’m still working on my acne. I still have regular flare ups, especially when I eat garbage foods or too much dairy, but I’ll never buy acne medicines again.

Acne is such a frustrating problem. It doesn’t matter how clean you are. If you have a hormone imbalance or food intolerance acne can flare up, but there are things we can do to help it. In the link at the top you can find all the uses for Witch Hazel. I hope this helps someone that may be struggling with this. Thank you for reading and have a Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “The Magic of Witch Hazel for Acne

Leave a Reply

