e.l.f. Mad for Matte Holiday Lip Set Review

DSC00084.JPG

I received the e.l.f. Matte Lip Pencils gist set for Christmas. It was a holiday exclusive so while this exact set is no longer available you can purchase each of these colors on the website. Four colors came in this set. They are Praline, Berry Sorbet, Wine and Rich Red. If you buy the pencils individually they are $3.00 and all e.l.f. Cosmetics are cruelty free. I really liked each one of these. They went on very creamy and dried down to a matte. A big complaint many people have with e.l.f.’s matte lipsticks is that they aren’t really matte, they tend to have at least some shine. That is not the case with the lip pencils. They can feel a little dry, as matte lipsticks tend to do. They held up fairly decent to me drinking with them on but did not hold up at all while eating. Below I’m going to put pictures of each color on my lips and swatches on my arm.

praline-elf-mattePraline

Praline is a nude color. It is not the most flattering on me because it makes me look washed out, however, it is a bit darker than it looks in the picture.

berry-sorbet-elf-matteBerry Sorbet

Berry Sorbet was super bright! Not a neon by any means but a very bright purplish-pink color.

wine-elf-matteWine

Wine is a very pretty brown-red color. This picture doe not do it justice. It is probably my favorite of the four.

rich-red-elf-matteRich Red

Once again this picture is not accurate (thanks awful cell phone). This a very fire engine red color. It’s pretty but not one I see myself wearing.

DSC00081.JPG

These swatches are exactly what each color looks like and they are in the order listed above.

I really like these lip pencils. Once I use these up I’d like to check out some of the other colors because there is quite a bit more on the website, which I linked above. If you want a true matte I say give these a try. I hope this was helpful! Thanks for reading and have a good day!

 

Leave a Reply

