The First Eyeshadow and Eye Primer to Make Me Angry- Hard Candy

Hard Candy is a cruelty free drugstore brand only available at Wal-Mart. I had never used anything by the brand before so I decided to try out one of their eyeshadow pallets and their regular eyeshadow primer, they also have glitter eyeshadow primer. I chose the super sparkly Guilty Pleasure Palette. At first glance these eyeshadows are gorgeous so as soon as I got them home I started swatching them. This is what I got.

DSC00110.JPG

As you can see these colors are so unpigmented. I know a few of the colors look okay but that’s after a ridiculous amount of swipes into the eyeshadow pan. Not only that they are super dry and get fall out everywhere. To add to this disaster once you get past that first layer of glitter, that’s it. The glitter is gone. It’s not all through the eyeshadow like you would think. Nope, just on that top layer. However, I’m not one to just waste something I paid money for, it was $6.00 by the way. I decided to try out my new eyeshadow primer, it was $5.00,  in hopes that it would make these colors stand out more.  Nope. In fact not only did it do nothing to make these shadows brighter or last longer it was also a goopy mess that made my eyelids look scaley. I started blending in the primer as soon as it touched my lid and it still got all clumpy and awful. I put the shadows on it anyways and it literally looked like I wasn’t wearing anything. I used the white on the far left and then the three browns in the middle. I guess it was perfect for a no makeup-makeup look but that’s not what I was going for.

Both of these products are garbage. It really doesn’t make me want to try more in the Hard Candy line and there was a few more things I was interested in. These eyeshadows are the same quality as the $2.00 e.l.f. Flawless Eyeshadows. Once again, these eyeshadows are $6.00, which I’m aware is not expensive but if you’re on  budget and decide to splurge on yourself you want it to be a good product. Definitely go with a Wet n Wild eyeshadow over any of these. As for the primer the $2.00 eyeshadow primer from e.l.f. is a million times better than this $5.00 one. More expensive doesn’t always mean better.

Sorry for this rant of a review but hopefully it will keep somebody from wasting their money like I did. I have placed two big orders from e.l.f. and Wet n Wild with a lot of eyeshadows and I plan to get some Milani shadows soon so hopefully I can give you quite a few  budget friendly  alternatives to this. If you have any of the Hard Candy eyeshadows and they work for you please let me know what you did. Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

