e.l.f. Smudge Pot Cream Eyeshadow Review

I am still fairly new to makeup when it comes to trying things out of the normal foundation, powder and powder eyeshadow box so I decided to give cream eyeshadow a try. Whenever I want to try something that I may not like I usually go with e.l.f. Cosmetics because everything is so inexpensive and if I hate it it’s not a huge loss. They’re also a cruelty free brand.

I bought their Smudge Pot Cream Eyeshadows in the colors Wine Not and Back to Basics. Wine Not is the plum wine colored one and Back to Basics is the gold. These are $3.00 apiece. Both are so crazy pigmented and have a very metallic shimmer to them. They go onto the eyelid smoothly and wear very well. I did not notice any creasing but I do wear an eyeshadow primer (the e.l.f. $2.00 one). I’ve not tried it but I read that you can also use these as an eyeliner. I’m thinking about trying that with Back to Basics.  For some reason Back to Basics has a very strong chemical smell, almost bad enough for me not to use it. However, Wine Not has no smell. Since these are the only two I own I’m not sure if the others have a scent or why one would smell different. I’m assuming since the packaging is different that they may have different formulas.

Overall, I really like these. I still prefer my powder eyeshadows because these are just more messy and time consuming. If you like cream shadows you should try these because they’re so much cheaper than some of the other makeup brands and they are great quality. I hope this was helpful. Thanks for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

