Herbal Supplements I Have Used/Use For Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome

DSC00119.JPG

Yesterday I posted about what Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, PCOs, is and why I have went paraben and hormone free because of it. I thought that today I would follow up on that by talking about the herbal supplements, herbal tea and vitamins that I have either taken or still take. As a disclaimer I am NOT a doctor, nutritionist or herbalist. It is very important for you to do your own in depth research on everything before you try it and consult with a doctor, especially if you’re trying to get pregnant. All of this is just my experience and your experience may be totally different.

First, let’s start with the vitamins I take. I have been taking the Spring Valley Prenatals since July of 2015. My doctor told me that these are good even if you’re not pregnant or trying to get pregnant. If you are trying to conceive it’s a good idea to take prenatals because it helps to build up folic acid which can help to prevent neural tube defects, like Spina Bifida, in unborn children.  Here’s a good, short article about the benefits of taking a prenatal before conceiving. I also take a Vitamin D pill but that is specific to me because my vitamin D is low. Your vitamin levels are something important to get checked if you are trying to get pregnant, or if you feel that something isn’t right in your body.

Second, I drink Red Raspberry Leaf Tea when I am on my cycle and the week after leading up to ovulation. The tea supports the entire female reproductive system, helps ease menstrual cramps and supports the uterus. I like to drink it to help with the ovarian cysts I get due to PCOs. However, this tea is not recommended in early pregnancy if you have had miscarriages.  I would probably just not drink it at all if I was pregnant until the very end of pregnancy because it supposedly can help labor pains and tones your uterus.

Third, Maca is a supplement I no longer take because my doctor advised against it while trying to conceive but I loved it while taking it. The number one reason I was using it was for help balancing my hormones. I did not have tests done on my hormones while taking it so I can not say for sure that it helped but I felt like it did. I never had any noticeable or painful ovarian cysts while taking it, I do at least once a month now. I had much less acne and facial hair when I was using it than I do now since no longer taking it. I also believe it helped to get my menstrual cycle and ovulation back on track. Once I have a child and I am no longer under the care of a doctor I will be using this supplement again.

Fourth, was Tribulus Terrestris. I also no longer take this one due to my doctor’s advice. Tribulus has many benefits but I was using it mainly to help regulate ovulation. I’m not sure if this helped or  it was the Maca but I did ovulate regularly. I was taking this days five through fourteen of my cycle.

Fifth and last, was Evening Primrose Oil, another one I no longer take due to my doctor’s advice. It helps maintain hormonal balance and increases cervical mucous which is important for conceiving. Once again, not sure if it worked or it was the Maca, or possibly a combination of everything I was taking but I felt good. I was taking it on days one through fourteen of my cycle.

All of these supplements can have side affects and a few can possibly cause miscarriages, so again, do your own research and talk with your doctor. When I (hopefully) get pregnant I will do an in depth post on what doctor prescribed medicines and procedures I have done. PCOs is awful and I hope that all of the trials and errors I have went through can help somebody else. If you have questions feel free to ask in the comments. Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

