e.l.f. Illuminating Palette Review

DSC00249.JPG

After lipsticks and eyeshadows my favorite type of makeup is highlighters. I love to shimmer and glow so I usually buy every one that looks like it’ll work well for me. The e.l.f. Illuminating Palette is a highlighter set that I have seen so many rave reviews on. Pretty much every beauty YouTuber that I watch just loves this little $6.00 palette. However, I do not like it. I feel like every super hyped up cosmetic ends up letting me down, such as the Wet n Wild Photo Focus Concealer and Foundation. Anyways though, I’ll tell you what I liked and didn’t like about this set.

Let me start by saying I understand why people love this palette. It’s not a bad product, it just wasn’t good for me and my skin type. My first and main issue is the colors. The lightest shade is glaringly white on my face, while the two middle shades just didn’t show up and the darkest shade is too orange. It didn’t matter how much I packed on of the middle shades, I couldn’t get any color pay off. The other issue I had were these highlighters are  just so powdery. It gets everywhere and really cakes up on dry skin. Once again, these could work for you depending on your skin type and color. I’m going to give these to my mom and I think they’ll be beautiful on her. These also don’t have much shimmer, if any. If a shimmery highlight is not your preference then you would probably like these, but for me, I want shimmer.

DSC00250.JPG

Swatches are from lightest to darkest. They’re hard to see against my skin. 

Some highlights I love are the Wet N Wild Illuminating Palette and the e.l.f. Baked Highlighter and Blush in Rose Gold. Both of those products are pigmented, shimmery and sit on the skin beautifully. They also are similarly priced to this Illuminating Palette. It really just comes down to what your preference is. If you enjoyed this leave me a like or comment and follow me! Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

