e.l.f. Baked Eyeshadow Palette Review

DSC00482.JPG

Fun Fact: you need to scrape off the top layer on e.l.f.’s baked products to really get into the product. That’s why there is scratch marks on mine.

As far as drugstore or budget friendly eyeshadows go e.l.f. Cosmetics is rarely ever the best. I will typically always choose Wet n Wild for my eyeshadows because they are amazing but I have bought a few from e.l.f. and I do like some of them. A few weeks ago e.l.f. was having a bundle sale, you get a few different items together for cheaper, so I bought one of their bundles for $10.00. It included a few different things that I’ve already tried but I mainly purchased it for their Baked Eyeshadow Palette. This palette is $10.00 on it’s own so this was a very good deal. I had been wanting to try it but didn’t want to pay full price and it be a dud. With e.l.f. I ALWAYS wait until they have a sale or I have a coupon unless I know I like what I’m purchasing because their stuff is so hit or miss. This palette is called California and they have two others available as well.

These swatches are the top and bottom rows applied dry. In my opinion, they are just very meh. They had crazy amounts of fall out. I mean, it didn’t matter if I tapped off my brush it still got all over my face. They wore okay throughout the day. I did have on my Milani Eyeshadow Primer but even with that the three colors I used just didn’t stand out.

These are the top and bottom rows applied wet. I couldn’t really tell a difference in the top row, as far as the colors being more vibrant when wet. However, when wet the bottom row really stands out. Something to note is the glitter in these, every shade has glitter, is very chunky. I’m all about sparkle and shine but I like it to be very fine and mixed in, not chunks of glitter. The glitter is an issue wet or dry.

I am NOT good at creating eyeshadow looks. I try to just make it good enough to be passable but I wanted to show how unimpressive these were. On my eyelids I am wearing the color second from the right on the top, crease is second from the right on the bottom and brow bone is third from the right on the top. I did apply these dry but they were just not good. They didn’t go on smoothly, tons of fall out and they didn’t blend well. I feel like with my Wet n Wild eyeshadows I have no issue making a beautiful eye look effortlessly.

If it’s not obvious, I do not recommend this eyeshadow palette. I especially don’t recommend it for $10.00. For eyeshadows, I recommend the Comfort Zone Palette or any of the trios from Wet n Wild. As far as blush, highlighters, mascara or foundation goes e.l.f. is usually really good. I hope this helped you out. I know I don’t like to waste any money so that’s why I review even the crappy stuff. I’m always looking for new stuff to try so let me know what brands has good, affordable and cruelty free eyeshadow. Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

