Clarifying Tea Tree Oil for Acne Review

DSC00554

Besides my weight, my hormonal acne is one of my biggest struggles. I have PCOs which affects my hormones and in turn gives me acne. I would say that mine ranges from mild to moderate depending on the time of the month. Certain things do help it, such as limiting dairy and using Witch Hazel; however, I’m always searching for new products to try. I had heard that many people have success treating their acne with Tea Tree Oil so I decided to find some. I came across The Beauty Foundry brand at TJ Maxx for around $6.00. It claims to brighten, balance and target blemishes. This brand is cruelty and paraben free.

This stuff was absolutely AWFUL for my skin. It is an oil, so maybe I should’ve expected this, but it left my face oily for hours after application. It never dried down but I could’ve dealt with that if it would’ve treated my acne. I used this consistently every day for two weeks and the entire time I had large and painful acne bumps. When I stopped using this and began using my Witch Hazel again my acne cleared up within days. It was obviously this causing me to break out because I wasn’t using any other new products.

I’m not sure why this didn’t work for me when it works so well for some people. It possibly could’ve been the brand but I’m not willing to give Tea Tree Oil another try to find out. If you’ve had a similar experience definitely try Witch Hazel. I’ve tried just about every kind of acne medication and nothing works as well as it does. If you know of anything that helps with acne let me know! Thank you for reading and have a great day!

 

2 thoughts on “Clarifying Tea Tree Oil for Acne Review

  1. Nicole says:

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve had such a terrible reaction to the oil! I’ve started to use this brand myself and had the opposite happen to my skin. I usually wash my face with a bar of tea tree oil and lemon soap and then use witch hazel to tone. I decided to try this oil, because no matter what moisturizer I used, my oily acne prone skin, with the occasional dry spot, never seemed hydrated enough. The first night I used the oil, which is actually a mixture of several oils, (maybe this was why you had a reaction?), I also used the Origins charcoal face mask. I then toned with the witch hazel, applied my acne medication and then the oil. The next day my skin was radiant, soft and no break outs. Anyway, I really hope you will find the the right oil or treatment for your skin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

