A General Review of e.l.f. Lip Products: Velvet Matte Lipsticks, Moisturizing Lipsticks, Essentials Lipstick and Lip Lacquer

I have been doing a lot of purging from my makeup collection lately. If I’m not reaching for it then I want to get rid of it so I can buy something that I will actually use. I was going through my lip products and noticed I had quite a bit of e.l.f. that I’ve never talked about on here. I’m going to be throwing out a few of these so I wanted to review them before that. I do not own all the shades in any of these because I purchase everything myself and I’m not going to buy colors I wouldn’t wear. This is more of a review about the formulas and how they perform, not a look at all the different colors the product is available in.

Velvet Matte Lipsticks

I’m not a huge fan of matte lipsticks so I didn’t buy too many of these. However, it wouldn’t matter if I had because these are not truly matte. They never totally dry down and they don’t have the staying power that most matte lipsticks have. If you eat or drink these will have to be reapplied. The colors are very pretty and were not patchy. I bought mine in the shades Dark Brown and Bold Berry. They were $3.00 a piece.

Essential Lipstick

e.l.f.’s Essential Lipsticks are their cheapest coming in at just $1.00. This was the first lipstick I bought from the brand and I got mine in the color Posh. This lipstick is just very meh. It’s good to only be $1.00 but it has no staying power, patchy and so creamy that it just rubs off the lips. This is one of the lipsticks that I’m decluttering.

Moisturizing Lipstick

e.l.f.’s Moisturizing Lipsticks, like the Velvet Mattes, are $3.00 a piece. I own the shades: Pink Minx, Ravishing Rose, Crazy Cranberry and Berry Black. These are very, very average lipsticks. They tend to be patchy and have no staying power what so ever. The lightest color, Pink Minx, has a very dry and crumbly texture. All the others are very creamy. Crazy Cranberry, second from the left in the swatches, is actually a very pretty red. It is patchy but it builds up nicely and would be good for someone nervous about trying red lipstick. I am decluttering Pink Minx and Berry Black.

Lip Lacquer

e.l.f. just added quite a few new shades to their $2.00 Lip Lacquers so I thought it would be good to throw this in here. I received this in the shade Bold Pink for free with an order. It is just a cheap lip gloss but as far as cheap lip glosses go I like this one. The color is patchy but it builds up nicely. I also owned the color Burgundy but got rid of it immediately after trying because it was just a streaky, awful mess. That leads me to believe that these are pretty hit or miss. This is not a very sticky gloss and it doesn’t have much staying power.

Out of all the e.l.f. lip products I’ve tried I recommend their Velvet Matte Lipsticks or Matte Lip Pencils. Their matte formulas aren’t truly matte but they hold up better than anything else the brand offers. However, to be totally honest, for lipsticks I recommend Milani’s Statement Moisture Matte Lipsticks or NYX’s Turnt Up! Lipsticks more than any e.l.f. products. Reviews will be coming on both those products soon, by the way. I hope this helped you decide what you may like to try or avoid. Let me know your favorite lip products! Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

