NYX Turnt Up! Lipstick Review

As I mentioned yesterday in my NYX Matte Lipstick review, NYX has been putting a lot of their lip products on sale. Usually it’ll be three lip products for the price of one so I thought this would be a great time for me to try out a lot of different ones for not a lot of money. Out of their Turnt Up! Lipstick sets I bought two, Set 1 and Set 3. I paid $6.00 for each set and the Turnt Up! Lipsticks are usually $6.50 a piece, so this was a great buy. Luckily, both of these sets are still in stock and on sale but I would buy them pretty quick if you like them. Side note, please ignore my hair in the pictures below. It’s ridiculously hot in Alabama right now so I have it pulled up.

Set 1

Set 1 includes the colors: Hollywood, Wine & Dine and Dahlia. Hollywood is a very bright red. Wine & Dine is a deep, plum-berry color. Dahlia is a very dark, purple-black color. On the website the colors look slightly different than what you actually get. Online Hollywood looks very orange, Wine & Dine is lighter and Dahlia looks brown. I still liked these colors they just weren’t what I expected. Wine & Dine and Dahlia are both pretty colors but they are patchy and take a good bit of building up.

Set 3

Set 3 was my favorite of the two sets. It includes the colors: Stone, Flutter Kiss and Feline. Stone is a nude color, Flutter Kiss a pink-nude and Feline is a deep, berry-red. The colors of these are pretty accurate to what you see online except for Feline and it is darker. Like the two darker colors in set 1, Feline is patchy. Stone goes on very nicely but it’s just a little too light for me. Flutter Kiss is my favorite of all of them and what I’ve been wearing constantly.

As for the formula, these all go on super creamy. They are very comfortable but not long wearing by any means. If you eat, drink, kiss or whatever you will have to reapply these. Like I said above, the darker colors are patchy but you can make them even by just applying more coats.

Overall, I do really like these but I’m not sure I would pay $6.50 apiece for them. The only one I might would possibly rebuy at that price would be Flutter Kiss. To me, if there’s a color you just can’t live without I say buy them but I do think e.l.f. and Wet n Wild offer similar formula lipsticks for cheaper. Let me know what NYX lip products you like! I’m always looking for new ones to try. Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

