e.l.f. BB Cream Review

 

A few days ago I wrote about my quick, summer makeup routine. In it I mentioned that I was using e.l.f.’s BB Cream with SPF 20. I thought today I would do a more thorough review and give you more details about this product. It is $6.00 on the website and like it says in the name, it has a SPF of 20 which makes it great for the summer time. This is the first BB Cream I’ve ever tried and I have some pretty mixed feelings about it.

DSC00708

I bought this in the lightest shade, Fair. In the picture above you can see a normal swatch of the BB Cream to the left and to the right of that swatch I put more and blended it in. In the unblended swatch it looks too dark but since this is a BB Cream and not a regular foundation once blended the color match was perfect for me. If you’re unfamiliar with BB Creams, they are like a lightweight foundation with less coverage. They’re perfect if you want lighter makeup or don’t want to spend as much time blending in foundation. I loved the coverage and feel of this. I didn’t have to use a primer, I just used a moisturizer underneath it. This sat so beautifully on my skin and just gave me a nice, dewy look. Even though it is a BB Cream it still had a decent amount of coverage. I was using it through a terrible acne breakout and after applying this I just had to use a concealer on the worst spots. Since this one does have sunscreen in it it smells strongly of sunscreen and will burn your eyes terribly if you get it in them (I know from experience).

Now for the bad news. I can’t be 100% certain but I’m pretty sure this made me breakout even worse. I have combination skin that is more dry than oily but still very acne prone. This stuff turned my face into an oil slick every time I used it. I would have to set this with powder at least three times throughout the day. I wore this to work and after applying at 7:30 in the morning by 3:00 in the afternoon I had noticeable oil on my face. My skin has NEVER been that oily. After using this fairly consistently I started getting numerous new acne bumps. This wouldn’t be that unusual for my skin but they were in places I never break out, like above my eyebrows and around my nose. I’ve stopped wearing it for a few days and now my skin is clearing up. This could all be a coincidence but I don’t think it is.

The above three pictures are the ones I used in my summer makeup routine but you can see how this looks on the skin and the coverage. The only other products on my face besides the BB Cream is a NYX HD Concealer on a few spots and e.l.f.’s color correcting powder.

I’m so disappointed that I can’t keep wearing this BB Cream. It looked so beautiful on my skin and was so easy to apply. I might still wear it occasionally to use up what I bought but I just ordered the NYX BB Cream (which is over double the price, unfortunately) so I’ll be reviewing that in a few weeks. The NYX one claims to be oil free and hopefully that is true. If you have dry to normal skin with no acne issues I say that you definitely need to try this. If you have combination, oily or sensitive skin I say try it because it’s a great product but do so with caution. If you know of any good, cruelty free BB Creams let me know! Also let me know if you’ve tried this before and what you think. Thank you for reading and have a great day!

 

2 thoughts on “e.l.f. BB Cream Review

    • karajames14 says:

      😂😂 I’m the same way. That’s why I’ve been trying to simplify my makeup because I’m tired of it taking me 45 minutes to an hour to get ready every time. I’ve heard great things about Tarte but they’re just so pricey 😔

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

